Battle of the Liquid Lipsticks | Lipstick Review

Hello lipstick lovers,

For a long time, I’ve wanted to write up a liquid lipstick review but I realize after a while that I don’t have a lot of brands to go on and compare about, I realized recently that I only have a lot of liquid lipsticks from the same brand…

Anyway, since then, I have gathered enough liquid lipsticks from different brands to be able to write up my personal thoughts about each of them. From their pigmentation and moisturization to their lasting powers and the like. So I hope you’ll find this useful when purchasing your next liquid lipstick!

I’m going to be dividing the post from the bad ones to the good ones. That way, I save the creme de la creme for the end.

THE NO-NO’S

Color Kill

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

Quite frankly, I’ve never heard of this brand and I can see why.

Sure, they’re vegan; sure, they’re cruelty free. Sure, they’re a budding indie beauty brand, but their formula is not something anyone can proudly rave about.

It’s thick and uncomfortable, though it is pigmented with only one swipe, the formula isn’t one I can genuinely say is comfortable. Throughout the day, it starts getting really powdery and crumbly and when you touch it, it feels like an extra layer of skin you want to rip off because it’s unnatural – just an uncomfortable mess.

Personally, I enjoy swiping my index finger over my lips to find that nothing comes off, regrettably (even after hours on the lips) crumbs come off each time. The only thing I can say that I enjoy about this brand is their packaging. It’s creative and cute, and if you have four shades, you can make a whole picture of the box. The applicator is a flat wand which isn’t my preference as I love doe-foots for ease of application especially in the corners.

Overall:
Pigmentation: 10/10
Lasting Power: 4/10
Transfers
Drying
Feels like soft paint on lips

Colored Raine

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

Yet again, another mildly known indie cosmetics brand. I was quite curious because the colours they offer look amazing on their lip models. However, I regret purchasing it because it’s drying, like, I-need-lipbalm drying. It feels uncomfortable on my lips, the colour (24SEVEN) stains my lips even after I remove it with Vaseline and worst of all? It crumbles and flakes, and weird powder residue keeps peeling off like ew… Definitely the worst liquid lipstick I have ever purchased. The colour is very pigmented, but that’s the only thing that seems to be good about this brand.

To be fair, the lasting power is just good enough to not get slammed on. I ate some pretty oily foods while wearing it once quite literally as it was dripping with excess oil – and it stayed on quite well. It didn’t completely fade away, though it started fading to a lighter, but not too light, shade of the liquid lipstick.

Overall:
Pigmentation: 10/10
Lasting Power: 6.3/10
Transfers
VERY DRYING
It makes its presence known but fairly weightless.

NYX LIQUID SUEDE

2017-02-15_10.42.21_1[1].jpg

I have personally been after this since forever ago and when I finally got it, I was ecstatic. but when I started using real liquid lipstick, I found out really quickly that the formula I had was quite literally imperfect. Not the kind where you go ‘perfectly imperfect’ – no. This is the kind of imperfection where you question why this line is even continuing .

I don’t know if it’s because I had a bad batch or that that’s the way the formula is, but I do not like it one bit. It’s got a flat wand, it’s quite pigmented, but it smells an awful lot like chemicals. When you first apply it, it’s really watery and it doesn’t dry down to a ‘striking matte’ as it claims to dry down to. It’s so sticky and uncomfortable and tacky, I stopped using it on my lips, and only swatch on my arm to pass the time and empty the bottle.

After it ‘supposedly’ dries down, and when I drink anything – BAM the colour comes off instantly it’s annoying to see.

Overall:
Pigmentation: 7/10
Lasting Power: 2/10
Transfers A LOT
Doesn’t even dry down…
Tacky on lips

JUST MEH

Girlactik Matte Lip Paint

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

The price does not match up to the formula. For something to be quite pricey, I would imagine the formula to be just as exquisite. Unfortunately, it isn’t.

It’s average if not below average, the formula dries well but for some reason? Throughout the day, it doesn’t feel as though it will dry nicely. As if there’s some moisture intent on being moisture.  It’s not a problem, that way your lips don’t feel dried out.

The smell is sweet like frosting to be quite frank and it’s pigmentation is adequate. It wears fairly throughout and entire day but will of course fend off when in contact with foods of any kind with battle scars through the visionary of small  patches around the lips.

Overall:
Pigmentation: 10/10
Lasting Power: 6/10
Transfer (N)
Non-Drying
Feels soft on lips

THE GOOD TO GO’s

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream (SMLC)

2017-02-13_01.37.21_1[1].jpg

This is the first liquid lipstick (lip cream) I have ever tried. NYX SMLC is known to be affordable, lightweight and comes in an array of colour choices. It’s pigmentation is great when you first use it, but after a few times, it gets tedious to keep dipping into the tube and then applying it over and over to get pigment.The texture is very mousse-y which I personally  like. It smells nice, but when you eat, it does come off and it tightens your lips on the outline afterwards making it look darker and patchy, and quite uncomfortable.

Overall:
Pigmentation: 5/10
Lasting Power: 6/10
Transfers (Y)
Non-Drying
Weightless on Lips

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick

2017-02-13_01.37.23_1[1].jpg

First and foremost, Its doe foot applicator is so comfortable. It’s very easy to apply and you get a lot of product on the first dip.It’s short and the brush is so smooth, it glides on easily on your lips. Its very pigmented, the formula is just a tad drying but you won’t notice it.When you drink or rub your finger on your lips, it does transfer a teensy bit of colour but its barely visible.

This is actually one of my favourite liquid lipsticks because its pigmentation is insanely good. However, when you eat, some product does get transferred to your food and some product around the middle part of your lips will come off. It isn’t exactly food friendly, but if you drink or eat non-oily foods, it will last just for some time until bit by bit the product comes off with every few bites.

Overall:
Pigmentation: 9/10
Lasting Power: 8.6/10
Transfer-proof
A little Drying
Weightless on Lips

Velvet Vanity

2017-02-12 08.46.18 1.jpg

Velvet Vanity is a Malaysian brand of liquid lipsticks. I’ve reviewed their products in a previous post if you’d like a full review on it. For now, I will just condense it into a short review.

It has a very very comfortable, satisfying, mousse-like formula. Its doe foot applicator is adorably soft and easy to use. When it dries, it does transfer a lot of powder residue, especially Blood Wasted. But if you press your lips on some tissue, most of it will come off. It’s lightweight and the pigmentation is perfection itself. It dries down to a beautiful velvet matte finish. Though I love the smell and product itself, it does not fend well against most food, especially oily foods.

Overall:
Pigmentation: 10/10
Lasting Power: 7/10
Transfers (Y)
Non-Drying
Weightless on Lips

Update : New Formula

Because I’m a fellow sale hunter, I waited until the perfect sale and promotion price to purchase the new shade. See how I typed shade instead of shade(s) even though there is a new pair of shades so lovingly branded the ‘Stuck in the 90’s’ collection? Well I’m only getting just one because:

First off, I already have Slamberry, although the formula will be new, the colour is the same and I haven’t even finished the Slamberry I already have so why bother?

Second, I have a brown liquid lipstick already which I BARELY use so why bother buying another brown liquid lipstick? Wasting money and space…

So there’s only one shade I want – Cheap Thrills. I’ve yet to have a shade like that and it gives me an opening to a new formula.

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

I was not about to pay RM 59 AND shipping. So I waited. I waited patiently and observed with intense attention for the perfect sale promo. And it was the New Year’s sale. Free shipping nationwide for any one liquid lipstick (or more) and each liquid lipstick is RM49? So free shipping for any one product AND a discount? Being the cheapskate that I am, I went for it.

*Shipping is only free nationwide after a minimum order of RM90 and international for RM200

Now skipping the entire tedious process of delivery and e-mail wars,  the product:

Packaging? Adorable, longer, Instagram-worthier.

The formula? It takes longer for the formula to dry and when it does? It’s a little sticky… the colour and pigment is right off the bat great, I just preferred the old formula better.

I have no monumental qualms about the new formula. I guess the only difference is the wand applicator which is flat-ended – as I have previously mentioned, is not my preferred wand choice – and that the formula dries slower, and dries just a tad bit stickier.

DIDA

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

DIDA is another cosmetics brand from Malaysia. What I adore about this brand (other than their formula but I’ll get to that later) is that this brand really takes into account of the shades they release on Asian skin tones. The founder test out each shade on themselves as well as common Asian skin tones. This way, we can easily compare what the shades will look like on us as on their models.

Their lip creams are weightless and the pigmentation is on point. I state with utmost confident because my mother told me that she saw my lipstick before she saw my face! (I was wearing Posh that day).

Only one dip from the bottle and my lips are fully covered (except for darker shades but that’s normal for liquid lipsticks). It’s insanely lightweight and it smells sweet. It doesn’t transfer after it dries down and it ‘s not at all drying. It stays on pretty well against food, but with almost all liquid lipsticks; it fades off at oily foods. However, with non-oily foods like a burger or ice cream, it fends off pretty well, especially the shade Lush. I remember eating a lot of food while wearing it one day and it was still perfectly intact.

However, after a few hours, it does get crumbly if you layered a lot of product. the crumbly-ness takes place after about 5 hours I would say?

The darker shades like Dune tend to fade off at the corners I notice after a couple of hours. but other than that, a perfectly adequate liquid lipstick.

Overall:
Pigmentation: 10/10
Lasting Power: 7/10
Transfer (N)
Non-Drying
Weightless on Lips

Beauty Bakerie Lip Whips

2017-02-12 08.46.17 1.jpg

This brand was recommended to me by my friend. It’s an indie make up brand based in America and it claims to be smudge and water proof. I haven’t put too much thought into this brand until very recently. I bought the shade Bubblegum Crisis and Parisian Streets. When I first applied the liquid lipstick, it was very uncomfortable. And then I tried it again and again, and I realized I hadn’t exfoliated my lips that day, which is probably why it was so uncomfortable. So I exfoliated my lips, tried again, and it was very lightweight. It has a very comfortable doe foot applicator. You don’t get a lot of product pulling it out of the tube. It’s pigmentation was quite good except for the more dark or muted colour like Parisian Streets. I had to go over it twice but it was still lightweight and does not feel too clumpy on my lips.

I used Bubblegum Crisis one afternoon at 4.40 pm. There was a little powder residue on my straw but that was to be expected if it hasn’t dried down completely. However, as I constantly swipe my lips, it didn’t smudge at all. I had my dinner – nasi goreng and fried chicken – which was quite oily, and most liquid lipsticks don’t even last through the first bite (NYX SMLC). After eating my meal, I checked my lips in a mirror and lo and behold, it was still there! Sitting perfectly where I applied it! Its colour still visible and no sign of smudge at all. I was impressed. I had to ask my sister if she can still see the color and she said it’s still there. It was a revelation. If this liquid lipstick can last through a casual oily dinner in a South East Asian household, there would be no need to apply it again for any other meals!

Overall:
Pigmentation: 8/10
Lasting Power: 10/10
Transfer-proof
Non-Drying
Weightless on Lips

Update:

I purchased a new shade from Beauty Bakerie – Syruptitious, and the formula has improved drastically – comfort-wise – and I love it. Now, I don’t know if the formula is always this way and I happened to get three below mediocre formulae, or that this really is a new formula, but I’d like to believe it’s the latter. because this shade is new, and the formula is so comfortable.

I love it more than the previous one. It’s still lacks a little in the pigment department, but it’s so weightless it’s literally like nothing is there. When I glided my finger upon my lips, it’s like touching your bare ones, I’m not exaggerating, I like to glide a lot.

So, there you have it! My full review of each and every liquid lipstick brand I own. I hope you find this useful when purchasing your next set of liquid lipsticks.

Thanks for Reading, and until then-

Z

Leave a Reply

