The Time I Got Distraught from Finishing One Book Too Early | Haul

It’s been a long time since I’ve bought a new book to read and an even longer time since I bought a lot of books at once. I’ve downloaded pdfs here and there but it doesn’t give me the satisfaction that a real physical, fresh scented book can.

So recently, I went on holiday and bought three books, and on the last day, I bought two more. It’s not a lot, but to me it’s a lot because when I bought just three books, I already finished reading the first one from one afternoon (plus minus going out) until the next morning so basically, like half a day, and I was afraid I was going to finish reading the rest before I even got back from vacation.

So I was getting anxious and distraught; “I hadn’t bought enough books” my heart was relaying to my brain. My excuse was always that I had enough books at home that still haven’t been read yet. But I knew in my soul I needed a fresh story. A different genre, a different colour (book cover), I needed something new in life and these five books were exactly it. However, since I came back, I haven’t finished reading my second book yet..

I had bought some clothes too, but I was more excited about my books.

Anyway, here is a list of personal synopsis of my little book haul!

The first book I saw and immediately knew I wanted is:

Playlist for the Dead.

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

When I saw the title it was both unorthodox and not too unrelatable (e.g. The Hunger Games, Maze Runner). It wasn’t an active verb or noun or sentence, it was like an indie-sounding movie title. It reminds me of Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl (Title wise) in contrast with The Fault in Our Stars. The title had no metaphor to showcase or a deeper- more complex- meaning to it. Just like Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, The title was unorthodox yet not totally unrealatable. It drew me in.

What it’s about:

Sam’s best friend killed himself for reasons unknown to Sam at the time. His best friend leaves him a playlist to listen to to understand why he did what he did. Did the playlist really help explain why he decided to off himself? Or did the secrets that seem to keep pouring out from people he doesn’t know be the reason he thinks he doesn’t really know who his best friend really was before he died.

The second book I saw was called;

The High Mountains of Portugal

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

 

Like the first book, the title caught me on a lasso and steered me to hold its spine.

What it’s about:

From the writer of Life of Pi you can expect a lot of twists and entertaining chuckles.

That’s not the description, that’s how I viewed it. I haven’t finished reading it as I’ve been busy since I got back, but fret not, it’s only the second book.

13 Minutes

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

I spent almost 4o minutes in the book store rounding the same shelves, eyeing the same books, picking up and putting away novels I’ve speed read boring synopsis’ of and walked past the two book section four times. I wasn’t satisfied with only two books, it felt like only half an effort to release myself. I actually picked up another book but I thought it wasn’t my taste after bringing around the book store again. And then I saw 13 minutes. I usually avoid romance and teen novels in general, though I love lipstick, it doesn’t make me any more feminine than a beauty youtuber. It looked interesting because it read: I was dead for 13 minutes, now I want to know why. Clearly, she isn’t a ghost, so this should be interesting.

What it’s about:

She was dead for thirteen minutes, she doesn’t know how she ended up there, but she knows one thing: it wasn’t an accident. The Times dubbed it ‘Mean Girls for the Instagram age’, another reason why I gave this book a second look. A book that forces us to take another hard look at our own friendships and relationships in general and think ‘Do I really know these people?’

Bigger question; Do you trust them?

The Fever Code

Processed with VSCO with c4 preset

I bought this book an hour before boarding the plane back home. I’ve been waiting for this book since James Dashner announced that he would be releasing a sort of origins of the Gladers and I hadn’t realized how much time has passed that it already came out without my knowing. I feel so out of touch it’s scaring me a little. Nonetheless, I was happy to get my hands on this as I would very much like to read about the Gladers true person and beginnings.

What it’s about:

Basically, the Gladers real origins- how they were chosen, how it all happened and importantly, the reveal; Thomas creating the Maze and how only he knew how to shut it down.

And finally,

Kids of Appetite

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

It wasn’t love at first sight, it was however a desperate look to get another book before I leave the country.

What it’s about:

Someone got murdered, someone is being investigated. The book is formatted the way a film would when turning back in time to what actually happened. Like, oh I don’t know, How to Get Away with Murder? I flipped a couple of pages and landed on one where the heading displayed the time, date and location, and I knew I was hooked. The timeline (from what I gathered) is moving backwards as the story progress, as I have mentioned, going back to what happened that night and who actually killed the him.

 

**

 

BONUS!

My Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Original Screenplay Novel!!!

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

Now, after watching the film, I obviously had to get the novel. I ordered it through an Instagram user who was getting it overseas. Little did I know, Brunei’s very own Best Eastern already started selling the original screenplay at $1.10 less than what I paid for, but cest la vie- it was my fault for not searching the stores first am I right? Shame on me.

Now, I’m not complaining about the price of the IG seller vs bookstore because that would be a little petty, no, I was just a little upset that instead of searching the bookstore for the novel and get it right away, I went ahead and paid for a novel that would arrive ONE MONTH LATER. To me, it’s almost painful to wait and constantly search my inbox for her to tell me it’s finally arrived. I ordered it on Nov 17th – right after watching Fantastic Beasts that night- and it arrived Dec 16th.

UGH just LOOK  at it! (refer to top photo)

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

Processed with VSCO with c4 preset

This is only a dust jacket though, I don’t mind it too much because when it’s removed; voila, you get a beautiful print of the Niffler.

Processed with VSCO with c4 preset

And at the back to the dust jacket, you get the Swooping Evil!

Processed with VSCO with c4 preset

To be frank, I was expecting a simple format of any old screenplay in her book, alas, it was presumptuous of me to think any less about the book from the amazing writer, J.K. Rowling. It is technically, a screenplay format, but it certainly wasn’t boring.

Processed with VSCO with q8 presetProcessed with VSCO with q8 preset

Oh how happy I am with my little book haul ❤

 

Thanks for Reading!

Z

Leave a Reply

