Tuesdays with Morrie (1997) | Book Review

CAUTION:
This post is long and draggy, read if you want to know how I feel about this amazing book, scroll away if you’re not up for it.

You’ve been warned.

April 22,2016

Currently, I am reading Tuesdays with Morrie. Though I’ve only started reading today, I’ve had this book for some time now. I adopted this book from my cousin who had planned to donate it to Bruneians Read Book Exchange. Thirty-three pages in and I couldn’t put it down, well, I’ve only put it down now because it is so hot, and I felt a little heavy eyed.

The author is Mitch Albom, famous for his best seller The Five People You Meet in Heaven, a book I also own but have yet to read. And I’ve owned that longer than Tuesdays with Morrie. Mitch Albom is an author I admire. His writing style is comprehensible. He uses simple words to describe his story. Which I find refreshing as I needn’t stop every few pages to jot down a word I don’t understand to Google later on, and then forget when that word was used.

The enjoyable book thus far follows the journey of a dying lecturer who intends to live his life wearing death proudly with a smile, teaching his one last lesson of life and death and dying and living to his ex student who once was close to his lecturer. The tale is told by the perspective of his student.

His story makes me feel something I haven’t felt in a long time; a deep love and appreciation for a good well-written story. Sure, I’ve come to fancy dystopian themed stories and those of hidden magic in modern day. But, it’s been one too long since I’ve read a book about life. Actual possible human life that can happen to anyone and inspire everyone.

April 23, 2016

Since yesterday, I’ve almost finished reading Tuesdays with Morrie. I decided to pause my reading to update my thoughts and feelings for this book, page after page I turn, I fall in love with Morrie more and more. If I had to pick only one book to read for the rest of my life, it would be Tuesdays with Morrie. How can I make such conclusive statements before finishing the book? Well, you know that scenic moment in a film or in a book or even on a reality program when a bride looks at herself in a full length body mirror, twirling in a beautiful princess-like wedding gown, and all her friends who came to help her pick out her dress swoons in delight and cries and say, “That’s your dress” but she knew in her heart the moment she put it on and saw herself for the first time in the fitting room mirror, it was her dress. She knew before everyone else told her, she knew before her mother saw her, that that was her dress.

Tuesdays with Morrie is my wedding dress. Metaphorically speaking. I knew it was my dress when I read the first page. I knew it will be my favourite book of all time because of how it makes me feel. It’s the book version of how I want to live my life, and how I try so hard to live my life. Morrie is like my older lecturer spirit encouraging me, supporting me, reassuring me to live how I had wanted to live.

My life choices was like an official proposition document, already filled out, authenticated, but awaiting a stamp of approval and an authoritative signature. And Tuesdays with Morrie was just that. Giving me an A-Okay on my proposal document.

I’ve always been in love with human beings and human life. Fascinated by it every time. I remember when I first entered sixth form, I had chosen Psychology, Sociology, and History (but I switched to Geography later on because I was too afraid of my History teacher) for my ‘A’ Level subjects. Whenever other students ask me what I chose, they always had this expression on their face asking ‘Why?’ why do I take it? Why do I take such demanding subjects?

Let me share some inside knowledge everyone should be familiar with now, in this generation, it’s a great deal of work to write an essay and everyone would do their best to avoid doing such. I remember always over-writing the limited number of words for my English exams because whenever I write, the story I write brings me along with it, and I get so caught up I end up writing a 1.5 k word essay on a 750 word limit exam. Point is, a lot of students, but not all, my age tend to avoid taking any subject that requires writing anything more than one paragraph. So they thought I was a masochist or something because I took three subjects that require writing at least three to five pages worth of words.

And when they ask me why, I tell everyone the same thing; I love humans. I want to study more about them, about us, I love knowing why they do what they do, how far they are willing to do something bad for self-interest, I love how primal emotions take over our being when our intellectual minds fails to find reason. I just love it.

I remembered how excited I was in Sociology and Psychology because I get to learn about my favourite subject in the whole world; humans.

And that’s why I am more in love with Tuesdays with Morrie than any other book I’ve read so far. Sure, Nicholas Sparks can create the most beautiful, corny, romantic novels you will ever read (I never read any). But Tuesdays with Morrie is my book. Morrie is the lecturer I’ve always wanted to learn from, and his way of life aligns with my dreams and goals for myself.

A lot of fans of Mitch Albom’s book may have said this before or if they hadn’t, I’d like to say; this book was written for me. For me to read, for me to fall in love, for me to renew and replenish my love for humans and human life.

Okay, it is on the dot 5pm and I had just finished reading Tuesdays with Morrie some ten or so minutes ago. I teared up in the end and my heart was touched more times than I remembered to count. I feel like a complete oblivious person because I didn’t know at all that this book was a memoir written by Mitch Albom about his lecturer, Morrie. I felt like an incompetent fool not researching beforehand. And I had the audacity to call it a story earlier.

However, after realizing it was definitely without a doubt, the whole novel was a true story, I was even more touched and humiliated I didn’t know it earlier. Until literally, the second page of the Conclusion part did I actually realize, THIS ACTUALLY HAPPENED? THIS IS A REAL TRUE STORY THAT HAPPENED TO MITCH ALBOM?

Which made the book even more important to me.

I’m sorry this post is so draggy, but I did made precautions earlier on so…

Thanks for reading!

SIGN-300

One thought on “Tuesdays with Morrie (1997) | Book Review

Leave a Reply

