My First DSLR

As an aspiring journalist and blogger, I felt that as important as it is to practice writing on a daily basis and keep my mind wandering and as inspired as possible, I felt the need to invest in a good quality DSLR to complete the journalistic ambition.

Over the past few weeks or so, I’ve been searching quite wildly for beginner DSLR’s or as those in the photography scene call an ‘entry-level’ DSLR which is – to my understanding – a beginner’s DSLR. After researching types of DSLR’s, recommendations, video reviews and ratings, I had decided to purchase a Nikon D5500.

The next step was to search for a cheap one. I’ve gone around websites that sell it at a marvelously reasonable price, but because the seller did not provide warranty, I was hesitant. I remembered once when I passed along Arab Street, there was a little shop that sells DSLR’s and lenses and stuff. So I decided to come down and check it out.

To my surprise, the Nikon D5500 was unbelievably cheap there and I decided to purchase it the next few days after getting my parents’ approval.

The day I went down again however, I was shown a different camera by a different salesman. I told him I wanted an entry-level DSLR but he told me the Nikon D5500 was just that, an entry-level. So if I ever decide to further my development as a photographer, I should invest in a semi-pro DSLR which he then introduced to me a Pantex.

Sure enough, the Pantex has proved to have better image quality when he showed me the image quality between a Canon, the Nikon I wanted and the Pantex he recommended. The Pantex proved superiority in quality which of course, swayed my decision. I was hesitant. It was a good deal though, a little extra cash for a better quality camera.

After much deliberation, I decided to purchase the Pantex.

After taking it home, I decided I made a mistake.

I went back the next day hoping to exchange it for the Nikon I had previously wanted. The manager told me I could exchange, but I would have to pay extra $300+ for repackaging or something.

Yes, I was unhappy with it so i decided to have it sold.

So far, no one was interested in the Pantex which I was a little relieved with, because after using it for a while, I was actually comfortable with the Pantex. It’s easy-to-use features and image quality deliverance, sure enough, I started to fall for it day by day.

The Pantex wasn’t something I had initially wanted, but maybe it was something I need.

 

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset
Processed with VSCO with 4 preset
4 thoughts on “My First DSLR

    1. Thank you so much Atiqah! (If you don’t mind me being informal ><) I was really hesitant about the DSLR, but as I mentioned in my post, it grew on me πŸ™‚
      I'm glad you're considering to further your photography enthusiasm, if you're passionate about it, nothing can stop you! :))

      'Aisyah

      Like

Leave a Reply

