Turning Left

I haven’t been going out a lot recently, mainly because I’ve been focusing on my one examination in Marketing. So, I haven’t visited any new places yet.

Today, my friend and I decided to eat at our favorite restaurant/cafe; I Am… Cafe, located at Haji Lane in Bugis. After we had our fill, I wanted to go around Arab Street to look for shawls and other things.

Now, I felt a little nostalgic coming back to Arab Street and I decided to write about the time I found this beautiful gem.

It was September 25, 2015. I was heading to Fluff Bakery for my (inconsistently but increasingly consistent) weekly cupcake hunt. Fluff opens at 12 sharp and I was there some 40 minutes too early. That week, they had my favorite Dark Chocolate Feuilletine Tart.

Anyway, I arrived way too early and was not about to create a line and wait there for the next 38 minutes (it takes about 2-3 minutes to walk there from the bus stop). So instead of crossing the street, walking down Jln Pisang, from the bus stop, I decided to walk straight down and turn left.

And boy, was I glad I did.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

When I turned left, I was excited to see what I could find straying away from the yellow brick road. Then I found this street. It’s located after Sultan Mosque along Muscat Street. It’s not the most interesting place on earth, or the most tear-jerking or fabulous.

 

But there I was, smiling.

It felt good to discover something on my own. To stray away from routine and find myself walking into a new road, a new view. It was unfamiliar and challenging. It was old and quaint but it was lovely and new to me.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

 

I may be making mountains out of molehills from my little exploration, but it made me happy, made me wonder, and made me believe that there is always something out there I have yet to lay my eyes on.

So for all you wanderlust individuals, I encourage you to discover new places everywhere and anywhere!

Instead of taking the same jogging route; turn left once in a few hundred meters, you never know what gems of your own you might discover 🙂

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I had wanted to make this post more in-depth and meaningful but I think my brain cracked from all that marketing cramming over the past two days…

Hoping to share more adventures with you!

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Turning Left

    1. Thank you for your support, I appreciate it so much! And yes, the path of the unknown is both frightening and exciting!
      This place is definitely a beauty, and I was so fortunate to have stumbled upon it!
      You should definitely visit when you’re in Singapore 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

