Review | VSCO Alchemy Collection

A couple of months ago, the Alchemy Collection came out on VSCO Cam. I am an avid VSCO Cam user and I have shamelessly bought all filters available. The Alchemy Collection is the latest installment to my knowledge and after browsing the filter options, I decided to purchase this one.

Screenshot_2015-10-11-15-11-04

Unfortunately, I did not have enough money on my iTunes card to purchase it, for at the time it was around SGD 3.98 (+-). I only had SGD 1.38. Recently, it was announced that the Alchemy Collection was on sale for a limited time only. I had forgotten about sale and almost didn’t purchase it until I opened the VSCO application. There was a little notification reminding me to get the Alchemy Collection while it was on sale for it will end on October 12. I decided to check it out and see just how much on sale it was. And Lo and Behold, it was only $1.41. I decided to purchase it but when I saw I only had $1.38, I was devastated. Sure, I could just recharge my card but the minimum recharge was SGD 30. And I wasn’t about to spend $30 just to buy a $1.41 filter collection. I was tempted though..

Anyway, I decided it wasn’t worth it. But then I remembered, iPhone’s App Store and Samsung’s Play Store had different prices.

I opened the VSCO application on my Samsung at first which was $1.41. But when I opened my iPhones’ VSCO, it was $1.28, which was fantastic! I quickly downloaded the collection without hesitation and I had no regrets.

Here are some of the pictures I have taken using the Alchemy Collection from Q1-Q10

Processed with VSCOcam with q1 preset
Q1

As you can see, Q1 has a deep tone to it’s filter.

Processed with VSCOcam with q2 preset
Q2

Contrary to Q1, Q2 has a lighter tone.

2015-10-11 03.51.16 1.jpg
Q3

Q3 is definitely one to contrast its colors. It’s the brightest and most vibrant among its sibling filters.

2015-10-11 03.46.23 1.jpg
Q4

Q4 kind of gives off this old timey feel like in the P filters.

Q5 emphasizes on the warmth of the picture.

Q6
Q6

Personally, Q6 is my least favourite as it overpowers a picture with green highlights.

2015-10-11 03.49.02 1.jpg
Q7

Q7 like Q1 emphasizes the tones of the picture and makes it look strong and masculine.

Q8
Q8

Q8 quite like Q5 highlights warmth in its photos but has a little fade effect to give it a touch of the past and a sprinkle of vintage filters.

Q9
Q9

Q9 is not my least favorite but not exactly a filter I would use regularly. Q9 highlights coolness in temperature of a picture.

2015-10-12 12.20.26 1.jpgLast but not least, Q10. It highlights greatly in warmth temperature and does not appeal greatly into this picture.

Overall, I would have to say the Alchemy Collection, though provides some promising filter options like Q1, Q2, Q4 and Q7. It mostly highlights the strengths and beauties of temperature in photographs. From extremely warm to the extreme cool, it emphasizes and promotes the appreciation of cool and warm temperature in photography.

Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Review | VSCO Alchemy Collection

  1. One of my favourite posts from you yet! Beautiful photography and the commentaries are so helpful! I’m a VSCO user but more often than not, I don’t know what the hell I am doing with all the bought filters, haha! Right now my phone is unavailable for almost a month so I was unable to edit photos for the time being but reading this makes me more excited to get my phone back. This gave me more insight to the VSCO filters in which I appreciate very much. I’m looking forward to more. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m quite noob-ish with the whole commentary, but I’m so happy you approve of my amateur review of the filters!
      VSCO is my favorite (if not the only) photo editing app.
      I hope you get your phone back soon! VSCO is waiting for you!
      By the way, I love all your photos on Instagram, it actually inspires me to make my photos look livelier hehehe.

      Thank you for reading my blog!

      ‘Aisyah

      Like

      1. It’s definitely my pleasure, I apologise for this late comment though. And thank you! My phone is back and hopefully I can get more photos soon hehe.

        Oh my! I’m so flattered, I’m not much compared to someone like you as you know how much I adore yours and since I’m not that invested into the photog life haha! But nevertheless, I appreciate your feelings ❤ It inspired me back to do better hehe.

        You'll be seeing more of me if you don't mind 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

